### STUDENT WELFARE COMMITTEE IN ST. JOSEPH'S COLLEGE FOR WOMEN

With firm conviction in the adage that 'One woman can do anything and many women can do everything', the College has provided a number of student support measures. The student welfare measures are multi pronged and multidisciplinary. They demonstrate their impact in diverse ways from providing amenities and facilities on the campus to nurturing their learning vis-à-vis guiding them for future careers.

The Student Welfare Committee looks at avoiding the barriers that may come in the path of a student's learning process so that they can be qualified professionally at national and international levels. This committee is in consonance with Committees in the parent University and other bodies in order to facilitate a positive academic environment to the students and help them to proceed in their career with minimal obstruction. During the stay of a student in the campus, this committee is responsible for solving all the student's grievances. The Student Welfare Committee of SJC is responsible for the general and specific well-being of students. It works for the overall welfare of the student in terms of student development which consists of student development programs, counseling of the students, social, cultural and leadership activities and many more.

### Aim:

To ensure the welfare of every student in all aspects and to resolve her grievances or issues during the stay in the campus, while providing ample opportunities for all round social, cultural, professional and leadership development.

## **Objectives**

- ▼ To look into all matters of students' concern and their learning effectiveness in the campus
- ◆ To recommend policies relating to students' welfare in conjunction with the IQAC
- ◆ To bring about a harmonious and mutually respectful atmosphere in campus
- To recommend enhancement of student facilities, students' life and experiences at the College.
- To review orientation processes and practices of each program in order to ensure these programmes meet the needs of all students
- ◆ To focus on all relevant student issues determined by current events by taking into consideration the suggestions of committee members

- To encourage students to express their grievances by providing them a platform to express their problems and rederess grievances of students brought to the notice of the authorities
- To provide the right opportunities for all round development&encourage healthy practices of student support and progression
- **◆** To guide, mentor and counsel them for future careers

## **Functions**

- 1. Supporting the students to facilitate optimum learning
- 2. Developing good relationship among students and the other stakeholders in the campus i.e. teachers, administrative staff and ministerial staff.
- 3. Addressing the various issues relating to their learning effectiveness, welfare aspects among others.
- 4. Conducting meetings periodically to discuss students' welfare and how it can be better over the years.
- 5. Developing a relationship with parents and organizing meetings for them (Parent Teacher Partnership Meet) in the Second Week of admission of their girls.
- 6. Organizing special classes for slow learners Remedial Coaching
- 7. Developing students-teacher relationship
- 8. Providing platforms for leadership development through Student Council, Departmental associations and General and Special Subject related Clubs

### **Members of the Committee – 2017-18:**

1.	Ms. D.A. Ramani	HOD, Dept of Office Management
2.	Dr. P. Aruna Devi	Director, PG Studies
3.	Dr. T. BhaskaraSudha	Incharge, Dept of English
4.	Mrs. E. Harini	HOD, Dept of Zoology
5.	Mr. Vijaya Kumar Ratnam	Dept of Commerce
6.	Mrs. K. Naga Sireesha	Incharge, Dept of Computer Science
7.	Mrs. P. Naga Jyothi	Dept of Zoology
8.	Ms.Vogayasi Gloria	President, Student Council 2017-18

# Members of the Committee -2018-19:

1. Ms. D.A. Ramani HOD, Dept of Office Management

2. Dr. P. Aruna Devi Director, PG Studies

3. Dr. T. BhaskaraSudha Incharge, Dept of English

4. Mrs. E. Harini HOD, Dept of Zoology5. Mr. Vijaya Kumar Ratnam Dept of Commerce

6. Mrs. K. Naga Sireesha Incharge, Dept of Computer Science

7. Mrs. P. Naga Jyothi Dept of Zoology

8. Ms. Mithali Saha President, Student Council 2018-19